Browsed by
Category: Series

Series Spotlight: Morganville Vampires

Series Spotlight: Morganville Vampires

[If you noticed this post twice, good for you! I accidentally hit publish instead of preview and Google Reader already picked it up…whoops!]

Ready for a non-sparkly vampire book series? Well, if you haven’t added the Morganville Vampire books by author Rachel Caine to your list, you should!

Morganville, American Covers

Books: Glass Houses / The Dead Girls’ Dance / Midnight Alley / Feast of Fools / Lord of Misrule / Carpe Corpus / Fade Out / Kiss of Death / Ghost Town / Bite Club / and the forthcoming Last Breath (out 11/11)
Author: Rachel Caine (Twitter / Blog / Website)
Publisher: Signet, an imprint of Penguin
Original Release Date: October 2006

From Glass Houses:
Welcome to Morganville, Texas.

Just don’t stay out after dark.

College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation, where the popular girls never let her forget just where she ranks in the school’s social scene: somewhere less than zero.

When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don’t show many signs of life. But they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood.

Five Reasons Why This Series Rocks My Librarian Socks (And Why You Should Read It):

This series takes place where most of the characters are college-age. It’s refreshing to see this in YA, because there are so few books written for this age group. (And off the top of my head, this is the only paranormal/urban fantasy that starts at the college age.) Also, this is a series that I feel comfortable giving to most 13 and 14-year-olds, and it makes them feel older and more mature to read about college.

Secrets and Alliances
In a town run by vampires, there are obvious alliances going around. Not to mention the secrets. But what I really love is the gradual reveal of Morganville’s secrets and history. I don’t want to spoil much about the series, especially if you haven’t read any of the books yet, but I will say this: secret passage ways. (I love secret passage ways! I blame Dawn from the Babysitter’s Club for this.)

Non-Sparkly Vampires
There are really smart, cunning vampires in this series and there are crazy vampires. Good vampires, bad vampires, and vampires that I still haven’t made a decision about. No one is always brooding, no one is a vegetarian and worried about their soul, and no one sparkles here. Furthermore, at least one vampire wears vampire bunny slippers. Doesn’t that prove their awesomeness?

Twists and Turns
I have never been bored while reading a Morganville book. Every book has a twist that I don’t see coming, and every book keeps the tension high. (The original arc — first six books in the series — ends mostly on horrible cliffhangers, too.) I need the tension high in a series or I check out. I have little to no patience for long series now that I’m an adult. And as a librarian, it’s wonderful to hook a teen on this series and then say, “There are ten sequels. Series is plotted out to twelve books, but that might not even be the end.”

Butt-Kicking Heroine
Claire is smart, obviously if she got into college at age 16, and she’s little (if I remember correctly, pretty short!), and naive at the beginning of the series. But that doesn’t stop Claire from picking up her own stake and joining fights. Not that that always goes her way…but to find out about that, you’ll have to pick up the books. ;D